Are Waffle Cones Vegan?

Cindy Wilson Thumb by Cindy Wilson
BS, Nutrition & Food Science

Americans have enjoyed ice cream in a cone for more than a century. Whether it’s a waffle cone, sugar cone, or waffle cone, what better way to enjoy a double scoop of your favorite flavor?

Today we’ll be discussing the topic “are waffle cones vegan“. As most of you know that the Real waffle is non-vegan due to the presence of eggs in them. Is it the same with the waffle cones also?

Origin of waffle cones

It’s hard to imagine the waffle without its iconic honeycomb surface, but it probably started out as a simple flat cake at first. The ancient Greeks cooked flat cakes, called obelios, between hot metal plates. As they spread across Europe, medieval cakes were made with a mixture of flour, water, or milk and sometimes eggs, became known as waffles, and were also cooked over an open fire between iron plates with long handles. They were stamped with various designs, from family signs and landscape scenes to the characteristic grid pattern.

Ice Cream Cone

During the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, hosts were consumed by all walks of life, from peasants to kings. Waffle cones were often consumed in connection with religious occasions and holidays, they were sold by street vendors (called hosts in England and gaufriers in France) who gathered outside the churches.

The Dutch were very fond of waffles, and the settlers played an important role in introducing them to the New World in the early 17th century. (In the New World, these cakes found their perfect companion, maple syrup.) Waffle as we know it today. Thomas Jefferson is said to have brought the first long-handled waffle iron to America in 1789. About 80 years later, New York’s Cornelius Swarthout patented the first waffle iron on the stove.1

Do you know?

At the 1904 World’s Fair in St. Louis, waffle cones for ice cream were presented. In front of the house, the old waffle irons on the stove were fitted with electricity and became common household appliances in the 1930s. Also, the Belgian waffle was introduced to the Americans at the New York World’s Fair.

Basic ingredients common in waffle cones

The ingredients used in the production of waffles vary by manufacturer. Although the basic ingredients that are common in most of the waffles are as follows. 

If you want to make chocolate-flavored waffle cones, you can add Cocoa powder to the recipe.

Can Vegans Eat Waffle Cones?

Sugar Cone With Ice Cream

Waffle cones are made in the store using fresh ingredients and eggs are a part of it. So waffle cones are definitely not vegan. They may also contain butter which is again made from milk and thus it is a non-vegan element.

But you can always try making vegan waffle cones at home.

Vegan waffle cone recipe

Sugar Cones

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoon chia seeds or flax seeds
  • 7 tablespoon water
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 tablespoon canola oil, you can use vegan butter also in its place
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions

  • Place Chia seeds or flax seeds in a small bowl and stir them well. Let them sit for almost 10 minutes or until they become gelatinous.
  • Now add flour, sugar, and salt to a bowl and stir them together.
  • Once it’s ready, add the chia seed mixture to it and stir until no dry mixture is left.
  • Now add 1 tablespoon water, oil, and the vanilla extract and stir them till they combine well.
  • Preheat your ice cream cone maker.
  • Once the ice cream cone maker gets heated, add 1/4 cup of the mixture to the center and spread out slightly to make a complete circle.
  • Now close the machine and cook it according to the instructions.
  • Once the cooking is done fold it into a cone shape with the help of a shaping tool. 
Once you have made the cones you’ll need to make vegan waffles as well to enjoy it as a vegan ice cream. So, I’m putting down an easy-to-make vegan waffle recipe.

Vegan waffle recipe

Waffle

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (you can also use olive oil)
  • 1/4 cup avage nectar or maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (you can also use flour blends)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 pinch of sea salt

Instructions:

  • Combine the almond milk and vinegar in a small bowl and let sit for a few minutes to set/activate. Then add olive oil, agave nectar, or maple syrup and whisk them together.
  • Put the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir well. Then add the wet ingredients to dry and mix until well incorporated. Then add a little almond milk, if it is very runny, and if it’s too thin then add a little more flour.
  • Try the batter for sweetness and flavor. Add more sweetener or some vanilla extract if needed. You can also add a little bit of agave.
  • Let it sit for 5-10 minutes while your waffle iron preheats. NOTE: We also tested these on a Belgian non-stick waffle iron and found that while the waffles had no problem sticking, they didn’t always cook completely inside. As a Belgian waffle iron, it is recommended to cook the waffles over medium heat, but longer (two rounds) and allowing them to rest for 5-10 minutes after cooking for the best texture.
  • As soon as the waffle iron is ready, brush generously with non-stick spray or oil and pour in about 1/2 cup of batter. Cook according to the manufacturer’s instructions, but cook in the widest range of the waffle iron suggestion. Cooking usually takes a little longer than gluten waffles. If you open the waffle iron too early, they are more likely to stick.
  • Once the waffle is cooked, carefully remove it from the waffle iron and place it on a baking sheet in a 200-degree oven to keep it warm. Instead, keep them in a single layer to ensure they stay crispy.
  • Serve immediately with the desired toppings such as fresh cherry-berry compote and more maple syrup. Keep the leftovers in a freezer-proof bag and heat them in the toaster for best results 

Difference between waffle cones and sugar cones

Sugar Cone

Sugar cones are made of flour, brown sugar, oil shortening, oat fiber, artificial flavors, and soy lecithin. The solid round edges of these cones can stack ice cream. Sugar cones are smaller than waffle cones, but they are also stronger. They are also usually produced in large quantities.

A waffle cone is a cone that is usually made in shops. These cones are made of flour, salt, eggs, sugar, butter, and milk. Few consumers of ice cream know that waffle cones contain more sugar than sugar cones. These cones are also usually more brittle than sugar cones. 

Dipped waffle and sugar cones

When searching for a vegan waffle cone you may come across certain waffle cones that are 100% on plant-based ingredients but unfortunately, they may be dipped in dairy-containing chocolate.

It’s true, the cone might be vegan but the chocolate coating on it makes it lose its vegan status.

Are sugar cones vegan?

This type is much more similar to wafer cones than wafer cones, but is much more stable and has a continuous edge but always keep in mind that they are also more highly processed.

While sugar cones often look like waffle cones at first glance, they differ in important ways. They are not made fresh, so the shelf life of the ingredients is more important.

Therefore, they contain vegetable oil or shortening instead of butter, both of which are vegan. They also do not contain eggs.

Ingredients for sugar cones are usually limited. with flour, sugar or Panela, Vegetable oils, artificial flavors, soy lecithin, oats, and other additives.

Are wafer cones vegan?

Manufacturers often refer to these as “cake cups” or “ice cream cones” without the wafer designation. They feel cheap and you probably won’t find them in most major stores.

Fortunately, wafer cones are more vegan by most standards. Formulations vary, but they are generally made with fortified flour, vegetable oils, emulsifiers (e.g. soy or sunflower lecithin), salt, baking soda, and flavorings. The ice cream cones contain fortified flour (wheat flour, reduced iron, and B vitamins), corn starch, partially hydrogenated vegetable oil, soy lecithin, salt, baking powder, achiot extract (for color), and vanilla.

Waffles generally get their best properties (like fluffiness and moisture) from extremely non-vegan sources like buttermilk and butter. So what can a vegan do? Not everyone has the time, energy, or resources to make loads of homemade vegan waffles with a vegan waffle mix every morning. Fortunately, some amazing brands have joined in and are now making vegan-friendly frozen waffles that will give you the taste and texture of “real” waffles without compromising your lifestyle! 

Are waffle bowls vegan?

Waffle Bowls

As you probably know, a waffle bowl is not a bowl that waffles are eaten in, but rather is shaped like a bowl made of waffle cone material.

Traditional waffle bowls (which are made in specialty stores) are not vegan, while the more processed varieties in stores are often inadvertently vegan. Since they only have oddly shaped waffle cones, you should expect them to share the vegan status of regular waffle cones.

Trusted vegan waffle brands

Nature’s Path

Nature S Path

One of the most popular vegan wafer brands is Natures Path, an exclusively organic company. If everyone in your family is asking for a different breakfast, Nature’s Path is your brand. Their waffles come in a TON of unique flavors, from pumpkin spices to dark chocolate with maple chips and cinnamon. Are you looking for a little boost for your quick breakfast? Try the Chia Plus or Flax Plus varieties to add fiber, protein, and omega-3 fatty acids. No matter which one you choose, all Natures Path waffles are made from organic and non-genetically modified ingredients, so you can feel comfortable making your choice.

Trader Joes’

Traders Joes

While they’re only available in Trader Joes’ stores, their gluten-free toaster waffles are a vegan favorite. They taste amazing but have no stomach (or conscience) disruptive properties that other frozen waffles contain. Then add in seasonal fruit, nut butter, or jelly for a slightly sweet and crunchy morning treat. They’re cheaper than some of the other brands on this list. If you shop at Trader Joes regularly, be sure to try them out. a budget, take note!

Van’s Simply Delicious

Vans Simply Delicious

Vans is known for making tasty, family-friendly products that don’t contain bad additives for you. For example, all frozen breakfast items are USDA Organic, Project Non-GMO Certified, and Kosher. Vans offer tons of frozen vegan waffles to try! You can always try GF Ancient Grains gluten-free waffles. They also regularly make organic waffles in Blueberry, Flax, and Totally Original, as well as the protein-rich Power Grains variety.

Kashi

Kashi

Kashi is always a great choice for healthier ready-made meals, and the frozen waffles are no different. Their gluten-free waffles, which come in regular and cinnamon flavors, are made from whole grains and flax seeds. With just 4 grams of sugar per serving and 3 grams of protein, you’ll be satisfied by lunchtime. They’re also a great source of fiber and taste great no matter how you cover them.

Earth’s Best Organic

Earth S Best Organic

Earths Best is perfect for children and adults and makes adorable mini waffles. They are available in two flavors: Homestyle and Blueberry. They’re the perfect size for little hands to grab or eat on the go. Both varieties are made from organic ingredients and are great sources of whole grains, iron, zinc, and B vitamins. Without hydrogenated oils and 0 grams of trans fat per serving, you can treat your little ones to these pint-sized waffles.

365 Everyday Value

365 Everyday Value

This organic brand in Whole Foods stores offers healthier versions of quicker family favorites. They offer two delicious types of frozen waffles, the multigrain and the apple cinnamon mini waffle. Both flavors are made with simple organic ingredients that give you that homemade waffle flavor with no fuss. Put your favorite fruit or spread on it or use it as “bread” to make an ice cream sandwich with your favorite vegan taste.

Just because you’ve adopted a cruelty-free lifestyle doesn’t mean you have to go without your favorite foods. Waffles may seem forbidden, but they don’t have to be! The vegan waffle brands will help you get that homestyle waffle flavor without using any animal products. Plus, they’re much more convenient than making your own batch of waffles. Just add a toaster or two in your toaster or microwave, add toppings of your choice (like some delicious vegan chocolate chips), and enjoy. Now it’s easy to have a nutritious breakfast at home or on the go that the whole family will love. 

So that’s all on this topic. Hope you guys have enjoyed reading this.

FAQ

Is it vegan to eat an ice cream cone??

An ice cream cone is not vegan; it contains butter. The process of making an ice cream cone typically starts by whipping the egg yolks, sugar, and butter together. A flour slurry can be made with some of the water from the recipe to create a smoother batter for the cones. The batter is then poured into a hot waffle iron or deep-fryer so that it will cook evenly on both sides.

Are snow cones vegan?

A snow cone is a dessert that is typically made with ice shavings, flavored syrup and fruit chunks. Although many people believe they are vegan because there is no dairy in them, some syrups contain gelatin. So unless the syrup is labeled as vegan, it would be best to not have one when you have a dietary restriction.

Are Baskin Robbins cones vegan?

Baskin Robbins cones are not vegan as they contain dairy-based ingredients such as cream. The Baskin Robbins website states that the french vanilla, strawberry, and chocolate flavors of their ice cream contain “non-dairy stabilizers” but does not specify what those stabilizers are made from.

Are Ben and Jerry’s waffle cones vegan?

Ben and Jerry’s waffle cones are not vegan as they contain egg. The main ingredient in their waffle cones is corn syrup, which comes from an animal source. However, the company offers a vegan-friendly option that contains just sugar and water.

Are Joy cones vegan?

This question is difficult to answer, because the ingredients in joy cones are not clarified on the company’s website. However, there are many vegan-friendly products that can be used to make cone ice cream, such as rice milk, coconut milk, hemp milk, almond milk, cashew milk and soy milk. Many of these products are also lactose-free.

Are Keebler waffle cones vegan?

The company, Keebler, is a manufacturer of many different types of baked goods and foods. The Keebler Company has a dedicated section on their website that lists all their vegan products, which includes the Keebler Waffle Cone. It is not currently known if the waffle cones are dairy free, but this can be confirmed by looking at the ingredients list on the packaging.

Are Tcby waffle cones vegan?

The question of whether TCBY waffle cone are vegan is a complex one. They contain dairy products in the form of synthetic ingredients in them, but at the same time they do not contain any animal products. The use of the term “synthetic” is important to note here because it changes the way that people would normally go about looking at this question.

About Author

Cindy Wilson Thumb
BS, Nutrition & Food Science
Cindy Wilson

Hello, I am Cindy, and this a website where I inspect everything related to nutrition and a healthy lifestyle. I have a BS in Nutrition and Food Science (Colorado State University) and have completed a dozen specialty courses related to nutrition, biochemistry, and food science. I am open to learning more, but foremost I would like to share all my knowledge with you.

Scroll to Top